Stupid me – I feel your pain and misery !

As I stated a few blogs ago – this is the time of the year that we stop going into the woods. If we happen to come across a cache in the woods, we tend NOT to do it and add it to the ever-growing “Winter List”. Saturday I broke that rule and am paying for it dearly. The first mistake I made was not adhering to rule #1 – Do not go into the woods in the Summertime. The second mistake I made was not completely saturating my socks with spray. Normally I coat the legs/pants and then soak the socks just to try to ensure I don’t pick up any unwanted critters such as ticks or chiggers (and I hope not to rub up against any poison stuff also). Well I did spray my legs but failed to properly soak my socks. Today I am sitting here – actually that should be “trying” to sit here at work and maintain my sanity. On both feet, a one to two-inch line of chigger bites extends all the way around both feet right where the sneakers stop. Yes – I should have worn the hiking boots, yes I should have properly sprayed my socks, yes I should have made sure the first thing I did after we got home was take a hot shower, yes I know better. But none of that knowledge helps when all I can do is sit here and TRY not to rub my ankles against each other. Chiggerex, Benadryl, Calomine, Calodryl and all other types of lotions are only helping so much!

On a slightly different subject – in my last blog I posted a pic and asked you where it was taken – CONGRATS goes to Grandpa Gene for being the first with the correct answer.

For all those traveling to Geowoodstock this weeken – please have a safe trip and loads of fun! nana & I cannot make it this year but look forward to the next mega-event.

As Always – Stay Safe and Keep Caching.

SNAP – – – Suffolk Nana & Papa ! ! !

4 comments on “Stupid me – I feel your pain and misery !

  1. Ouch Ouch Ouch. Your pain is mine. We were in a shopping center, not the woods, so my first rule is now going to be NEVER EVER lay down in pine straw while looking under bushes and pine trees to try and find a cache. I have counted over 60 bumps on my back legs under arms etc. from what we can assume is chiggers. All the above meds that you mentioned last just a little while and the itch starts again. Note to self..WInter cache, lol. Hope your better soon

    • Nana (Pam) has the exact same thing as you do this week. Chigger bites all over her legs. Update – my stuff is definitely not chiggers but is poison ivy. ITCH ITCH ITCH ! but actually – I think I got the better end of the deal.! SNAP ~

Leave a comment